Located alongside the Canal, near Place Sainctelette, the Citroën-Yser garage was built in 1933 to plans drawn up by André Citroën itself, who wanted it to be Europe’s largest garage (http://www.citroenyser.be/histoire).
It was built on a plot of nearly 2 hectares, located between Quai des Péniches and the former Brussels heliport. Its total built area is approximately 48,000 m², and it consists of the showroom, workshops and offices.
Given its location and its iconic character, it is a strategic site for the implementation of the Canal Plan.
On it, the Brussels-Capital Region wishes to develop a museum of modern and contemporary art of international stature, as well as various complementary functions.
On 29th septembre 2016 the Minister-President of the Brussels Region, Rudi Vervoort, and the president of the Georges Pompidou Centre in Paris, Serge Lasvignes, announced the signing of a memorandum of understanding on the transformation of the former Citroën garage into a cultural centre of global stature.
The role of the Urban Development Corporation (SAU-MSI)
The Urban Development Corporation (SAU-MSI) acquired the site in October 2015.
The acquisition deed provides for the continuation of the garage business until the end of 2017, giving time for Citroën to construct a new building for the continuation of its business in the Canal Area.
In June 2015, the SAU-MSI launched an international tender process for the analysis of the site’s development potential.
Depending on the results of this study, the SAU-MSI will organise an international competition for the establishment of an architectural plan.